Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Board of Appeal

Following Articles 18 and 19 of ACER’s found​ing regulation, ACER's Administrative Board appointed on 18 October 2016 the six members and six alternates of ACER's Board of Appeal for a mandate of 5 years which can be renewed.

ACER Board of Appeal is part of the Agency but is independent from its administrative and regulatory structure.

Any natural or legal person, including national regulatory authorities can lodge an appeal against a decision taken by ACER where the Agency has actual decision-making powers (individual decisions).

The decisions of the Board of Appeal may themselves be subject to appeal before the Court of Justice of the European Communities.

Members of ACER Board of Appeal and their alternates were selected from among current or former senior staff of the national regulatory authorities, competition authorities or other national or Community institutions with relevant experience in the energy sector. As stated in the regulation, they shall undertake to act independently and in the public interest.


Members of the Board of Appeal

Members of the Board of Appeal (in alphabetical order):
a)  Walter Boltz
b)  Yvonne Fredriksson
c)  Jean-Yves Ollier
d)  Andris Piebalgs
e)  Mariusz Swora
f)   Michael Thomadakis.

Alternates of the Board of Appeal (in alphabetical order):
a)  Viorel Alicus
b)  Miltos Aslanoglou
c)  Mariano Bacigalupo Saggese
d)  Nadia Horstmann
e)  Erik Rakhou
f)   Dominique Woitrin.