

DECISION No 1/2020

OF THE ADMINISTRATIVE BOARD OF THE EUROPEAN UNION AGENCY FOR THE COOPERATION OF ENERGY REGULATORS

of 7 January 2020

on the appointment of one Member and one Alternate Member of the Board of Regulators of the European Union Agency for the Cooperation of Energy Regulators without voting rights

THE ADMINISTRATIVE BOARD OF THE EUROPEAN UNION AGENCY FOR THE COOPERATION OF ENERGY REGULATORS,

Having regard to Regulation (EU) 2019/942 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 5 June 2019 establishing a European Union Agency for the Cooperation of Energy Regulators¹, and, in particular, Article 19(1)(b) thereof,

Having regard to Decision of the EEA Joint Committee No 93/2017 of 5 May 2017 amending Annex IV (Energy) to the EEA Agreement [2019/205]², and, in particular Article 1(5) thereof,

Having regard to Decision No 05bis/2010 of the Administrative Board of the European Union Agency for the Cooperation of Energy Regulators of 21 September 2010 on the Delegation to the Chair of the powers to appoint new members of the Board of Regulators,

Whereas:

(1) The Agreement on the European Economic Area is going to incorporate Regulation (EC) No 713/2009 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 13 July 2009 establishing an Agency for the Cooperation of Energy Regulators, Regulation (EC) No 714/2009 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 13 July 2009 on conditions for access to the network for cross-border exchanges in electricity, and Regulation (EC) No 715/2009 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 13 July 2009 on conditions for access to the natural gas transmission networks.

OJ L 158, 14.06.2019, p. 22.

OJL 36, 7.02.2019, p. 44.



- (2) In light of the above, pursuant to Decision of the EEA Joint Committee No 93/2017 of 5 May 2017, the national regulatory authorities of the EFTA States, as well as the EFTA Surveillance Authority, shall participate fully in the work of the European Union Agency for the Cooperation of Energy Regulators, and in all its preparatory bodies, including working groups, committees, task forces of the Agency and the Board of Regulators, without the right to vote.
- On 18 December 2019, the EFTA Surveillance Authority (ESA) informed the Agency of its proposal to nominate Mr Hogni S. KRISTJANSSON and Mr Gunnar Thor PETURSSON respectively as Member and Alternate Member of the Board of Regulators.

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

Article 1

Mr Hogni S. KRISTJANSSON and Mr Gunnar Thor PETURSSON are appointed respectively as Member and Alternate Member of the Board of Regulators in representation of the EFTA Surveillance Authority (ESA).

Article 2

This Decision shall enter into force on the day of its adoption and shall be notified to the Board of Regulators.

Done at Ljubljana, 7 January 2020.

For the Administrative Board

The Chair

Dr. R. JORDAN