ACER Board of Appeal extends term of its Chairman Andris Piebalgs

ACER’s Board of Appeal (BoA) has extended the term of its Chairman, Andris Piebalgs, and Vice Chairman, Jean-Yves Ollier, designated for their first term in office in November 2016, for a second two and a half year mandate.
The BoA is part of the Agency but is independent from its administrative and regulatory structure. Any natural or legal person, including national regulatory authorities, can lodge an appeal against a decision taken by ACER in cases in which the Agency has actual decision-making powers (individual decisions). The decisions of the board may themselves be subject to appeal before the Court of Justice of the European Communities.

Members of the board and their alternates were selected from among current or former senior staff of the national regulatory authorities, competition authorities or other national or Community institutions with relevant experience in the energy sector. As stated in the Agency’s founding regulation, they shall undertake to act independently and in the public interest.