Members of the EU Parliament visit ACER


​A delegation from the European Parliament’s Committee for Transport, Research and Energy (ITRE) visited today the Agency for the Cooperation of Energy Regulators (ACER) in Ljubljana (Slovenia). The delegation discussed the latest developments in the Agency’s work towards a single, well-functioning and transparent energy market in Europe. The Agency fosters the cooperation and sharing of best practices among EU National Energy Regulators in the 28 EU Member States for the benefit of all EU consumers.

The ITRE delegation was composed of the following Members of the European Parliament: Paul Rübig, Maria Spyraki and Theodor Dumitru Stolojan from the European Popular Party; Jeppe Kofod, Flavio Zanonato and Carlos Zorrinho from the Socialists and Democrats; Morten Helveg Petersen from the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats (ALDE); and Nicolay Barekov from the European Conservatives and Reformists (ECR).

Discussions focused in particular on ACER’s work for the development of sound regulation and complementarity of rules at national and EU level; the findings of the Agency with regard to the current status of the single energy market; its activities contributing to the development of trans-European infrastructure for energy; the future role of ACER in the framework of the European Commission’s Strategy for an Energy Union; and the Agency’s surveillance of trading in wholesale energy markets to detect and prevent market abuse.

The European Parliament, and in particular its ITRE Committee, has been very supportive of the work of the Agency. The Agency’s Director and the Chairman of ACER’s Board of Regulators report on a regular basis to the ITRE Committee on the main achievements and remaining barriers for the single EU Energy Market.